Wk 2 – Plaster Casting

IMG_0664IMG_0657IMG_0645IMG_0648IMG_0653IMG_0669

This week’s experience was a great excuse to go to the beach; however, I might have chosen the wrong day. It was extremely gloomy, windy, and rainy, which I surprisingly enjoyed. Making a replica of my hand with plaster was very simple, but because of the weather conditions, I had to work fast. As soon as I got there, I dug a hole, put my hand in it and buried my hand. I though I was going to have trouble with keeping the mold’s shape, but I managed to keep it together. I knew it would be a bad idea to use ocean water because of the temperature, so I brought a 50 ounce water bottle from trader joes with me instead. I mixed the plaster and water together and filled the mold as neatly and quickly as I could. After about 25-30 minutes, I decided too pull my plastered hand out. It was fragile, but mostly dry; however, the ends of the fingers did break off. I do wish it would’ve been sunny and dry, but I wouldn’t have enjoyed all the kites in the air and sail boats in the sea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

